Being tired and/or depressed can affect your creativity, so sometimes you have to make the conscious choice of not writing, so that you can let your mind rest.
Taking a break can breathe new energies and ideas into your life, and although it is hard to say no to the emails and commitments, we have to take care of ourselves. So even if you can’t take a real break from work, you can still take a small break from your hobby or afterwork activities for a while, and maybe try something new, or just lay down on the couch and take a much needed nap. It doesn’t even have to be for too long. It could be just a few weeks, or maybe even a weekend.

In my case, my work year has come to an end, and after all the writing, field and lab work I’ve accomplished this year, I’m ready to call it a day.
My blog posts will restart again a little after mid January.

In the meantime, I want to wish you all happy holidays! And in the same spirit of the holidays, here are some links to help people who need it:

Kiva
Doctors without borders
Five ways to help Aleppo citizens
Take care and see you in January!

