WARNING:  I want to let you know that I tried my best to do a spoiler free post. Just in case it’s not as spoiler-free as I hoped, however, be warned!  Also, this post will be super short as this is NaNoWriMo month and I need to get going with that!

Last night I went to see the new Harry Potter world movie: Fantastical Beasts and Where to Find Them.

I liked it. I liked it a lot.

It was like stepping into a familiar, yet strange new world that embraced you with open arms. There were breathtaking scenes, and very funny ones. There was wonder all around you, making you crave for more, for that world to merge with ours and make it as marvellous and exciting as they show it. Minus the bad guys, of course!

However, I can’t say that I absolutely loved the movie. I liked and enjoyed it so much, but as the credits rolled, I was left with a feeling of emptiness where the characters were concerned. I got the feeling that in making sure the world was as amazing as we wanted it to be –and it is!–, the characters were left behind, forgotten, with little attention paid to their growth.

Characters are what make stories dear to our hearts. Seeing them grow and learn from their mistakes makes us relate to them. I didn’t feel that happening in the movie. Maybe as an aspiring writer I have read to much about how to make a story work that I have become jaded, and a little bit harsher in my judgements, but I was a tiny, itty little bit disappointed.

I still absolutely recommend people to go see it!! It’s a feast for your imagination and if you’re a story maker like me, it’s so inspiring for world building.

All in all, Fantastical Beasts and Where to Find Them is a wonderful movie that I will watch like 100 times, or more! Thank you J. K. Rowling!

 

