This month is NaNoWriMo. Happiness!!!

Also, I’m super exhausted. October has been a whirlwind of activities and I’m feeling exhausted. I’m also about to go to a scientific meeting for the next week, along with writing my papers for work and my NaNo project.

To say that I’m feeling a little overwhelmed might be a slight understatement, but either way, I’m determined to keep going. It’s only a few months more before I can rest and forget about the world, enjoying my family and friends back at home.

But for now: work, travel and NaNo, here we go!

Speaking of NaNo, this time around I’m writing about I place I know like the back of my hand. It’s my favourite village in the world, a place I spent basically all my summers until I was 26, and I’m excited to be working with it as I could also give you another understatement about descriptions being my weaknesses when writing any kind of story.

This time, though, it seems it will be different. I believe it has to do with that old advice any writer is given at least once in their lifetime: write what you know. I find it so true in some cases such as this one.

I have never written descriptions so vivid as the one I wrote on Tuesday, the first day of NaNo. I know that place so well, the nuances of the dirt roads, the feeling the locals get about the tourists and the way life goes around in the different seasons that it isn’t difficult to put those into words. The feelings I have for that place also help a lot.

I’m going to keep working to get those good descriptions consistent during this NaNo, but I’m not going to get ahead of myself. This month is promising to be wonderful and exhausting at the same time.

Let’s see what happens at the end of the month. It’s going to be an adventure, to say the least!

