As I child I had a very hard time because I was different. I didn’t like the same things as the rest of the kids I knew. I just loved inventing stories and traveling through the pictures in a book into new and undiscovered worlds –hence here I am writing my own novel!

My schoolmates did not share my love of fantasy; nor did they understand me. They saw me as the weird, nerdy girl who probably spent her whole day buried in books, doing homework.

They weren’t terribly wrong. I did spend the whole day in books, just not the ones they thought. It wasn’t math, nor history, nor chemistry. It was the Middle Earth, Arendia and Krynn, among thousands of other worlds.

It was a very lonely time. Not because I didn’t enjoy my time in those places, but because I had no one to share them with. Even the most beautiful wonder of the world is even better when we can share it.

Harry Potter helped a little. J.K. Rowling’s books were one of the firsts that helped bridge the gap between me and the other kids –well, teenagers, by that point– in my life. Still, there weren’t that many.

As I grew up, I learned how to be the odd one out and be happy about it. I was lucky when I got into university, and further, to find friends who accepted me just the way I am –whom I love with all my heart. Still, there were endless comments/jokes about Doctor Who, or other series , or books I loved that fell flat on all ears.

Not anymore.

Going to the ComicCon in Montreal this past weekend was like coming to a family reunion of people with the same surname. You don’t know even half of them but there is something that calls you more than rationale can explain – call it ‘sharing blood’ however much you want, that still doesn’t explain the sudden affinity you can have with someone you know nothing about.

That was ComicCon this past weekend for me and for so many people who attended with me, with people dressing up from different fandoms and going wild over Brent Spiner, Tom Felton, or William Shatner –all normal people who bring our fantasy worlds alive.

There was no judgement over which fandom, world or actor was better. There was no competition. There was only love. There was only love and marvel at the effort people had taken to dress up as their favorite characters, at the art so many artists are being inspired to create, at the acceptance of any person –no matter their age, race or sexual preference– who wanted to belong to this multicolored, crazy, woohooing family.

For the first time in forever, I went to an event and I wasn’t the weird one, or if I was the weird one, there was revelry in it.

It was home. Finally.


Bonus: Tom Felton –Draco Malfoy from Harry Potter for those who don’t know– felt the need to understand this family and created a documentary called Superfans! I don’t know if he was able to fully comprehend the feeling of belonging, but I hope he got closer to it. Click here to watch it if interested!

 

 

